Kosmophil

Schroeders Blog

My way to Streetphotography

It all started in January 2017: I don’t know exactly when and where, but there was this article about Eric Kim. When I looked at the website of Eric Kim, my first reaction was ‘what the f*** is this?’. Before I never heard about Streetphotography, so it was a new world for me. I began to read the tutorials form him and was more and more excited.

One of Eric Kim tipps is to use a small camera with a fixed wide-angle lens for Streetphotography. Accidental I read an article about the Fuji X100F that time. And so it goes on: I ordered a X100F in a webshop, hot for Streetphotography. In fact, my wife and I we had a Nikon D90 at that time, but this camera was to big and heavy to carry around all the time.

It was a pity, that the X100F was out of stock at that time. So I waited. Then in May I  didn’t want to wait anymore and I began to consider, if the X100F will be the right camera for me. In the end I decided to buy a camera with exchangeable lenses, so I canceled my order for the X100F.

Midth of August 2017 the time had come to act: I took my wife and we drove to Fotomax (a camera shop) in Nuremberg. Actual we wanted to buy a X-T20, but when we left the shop it was the X-T2, with the kit-lens XF18-55 and the pancake lens XF27/2.8 which we bought. The pancake lens was the one meant for Streetphotography.

The first pictures were from the 14th of August in 2017. That was the hour of birth of Streetphotography for me. At this point I had around 30 Follower on Instagram and I have posted only occasional photos from some travels.

My first street photo was this:

(Untitled, 2017)

Awesome 😉 , what do you think?

At that time I was very, very cautious taking photos of people. Also I wasn’t used to the point, not to shoot to much because of the scrap rate. So I was focusing very accurate and then taking only one picture. The yield wasn’t very high.

My first street photo, which I posted on Instagram, was this one:

(Relax, 2017)

I was proud like a peacock. The feedback was modest.

In the following months I began more and more to make experiments. First I switched from single shot to continous shooting. Then I began to vary the focal points up to the point, when I switched to continous focusing. At that time I worked with fixed aperture of 6.4 and a variable shutter speed. OK, the amount of blurry pics was tremendous.

The first good street photo I’ve made (in my humble opinion) was this one:

(On the other side, 2017)

The Instagram followers were growing rapidly.

A real challenge were the winter months. I am an employee in my main job and a amateur street photographer. Unter these conditions f from November to February you will shoot in whole darkness, when you leave the enterprise at 17.00 o’clock. So I had to change my techniques in shooting: More concentration and a slow down. Just stand still and hold your hand calm. In these months my kind of looking at street scenes changed. Trent Parke had once said: “I am forever chasing light. Light turns the ordinary into the magical.”. If you ever shoot street in winter, you will know, what the sentence mean.

In my eyes there are two possibilities, how to shoot street in winter: Either you shoot against the light, so that the person will appear as silhouette or you shoot with the light, so that the persons face will get a glow by the shop lights. An example for a mixture of both styles you will see in this image:

(Bags, 2017)

The greatest step forward I’ve made in March 2018. In this month I had a lot of practice and that consolidated my kind of street photography: The way how I hold the camera (more about that in a separate article), the way which motif I will shoot (also more in a seperate article), and the way how I work on my images in the postproduction.

At this point I should mention, that I have some ethics on making street photos: No childs, no helpless people and no people with disabilities – these persons are taboo. And I should mention, that I have a very less postproduction. There are only three things I will change in postproduction: Acros or Classicchrome, increasing contrasts and cropping – that’s all. I don’t do photoshopping! That would mean for me to change the history, it would not feel authentic. So all of my pics are pure and raw street!

When I write this article the count of followers on Instagram is nearly 1200. I’ve made so far around 15000 pics. Serious post produced were around 1000. Actually I’m looking for other street photographers in Nuremberg, to exchange views around Streetphotography. I’m curious which interesting people I will meet.

Meanwhile I have a X-E3 as second body and 4 more lenses. The X-E3 is my main workmate for all days.

My actually best photo (imho) is this:

(Mirrror man, 2018)

The journey continues…

Next Post

Previous Post

© 2018 Kosmophil

Theme by Anders Norén

error: Content is protected !!

Kosmophil

Schroeders Blog

Mein Weg zur Streetphotography

Alles fing im Januar 2017 an: Ich weiß nicht mehr genau wo, aber irgendwie stieß ich auf einen Artikel über Eric Kim. Als ich dann auf die Webseite von Eric Kim ging, dacht ich mir zuerst „was zur Hölle ist das?“. Vorher hatte ich noch nie von Streetphotography gehört oder gelesen. Also habe ich mir die verschiedenen Tutorials von ihm durchgelesen und wurde immer begeisterter.

Einer der Tipps von Eric Kim ist, dass man als Streetfotograf eine kleine Kamera mit Weitwinkel-Festbrennweite benötigt. Zufällig hatte ich damals auch einen Artikel über die angekündigte Fuji X100F gelesen. Und so gab sich das Eine das Andere: Ich bestellte mir im Internet die X100F, heiß darauf, mit der Streetphotography loszulegen. Zwar hatten meine Frau und ich zu diesem Zeitpunkt noch eine Nikon D90, aber die Kamera und die dazugehörigen Objektive waren einfach zu groß und zu schwer, um sie immer mit sich herumzutragen.

Dumm war nur, dass die X100F damals völlig vergriffen war. Also wartete ich. Irgendwann im Mai wurde ich des Wartens überdrüssig und ich begann zu überlegen, ob es überhaupt eine X100F sein muss. Schließlich gewann ich immer mehr die Einsicht, dass ich mit einem Wechselobjektivsystem besser fahren werde. Also wurde die X100F wieder storniert.

Mitte August 2017 war es dann endlich soweit: Ich schnappte mir meine Frau und wir fuhren zu Fotomax in Nürnberg. Eigentlich wollten wir die X-T20 kaufen, heraus kamen wir mit der X-T2, dem Kit-Objektiv XF18-55 und dem Pancake XF27/2.8, das für die Streetphotography gedacht war.

Die ersten Aufnahmen erfolgten dann am 14.08.2017. Das ist die  Geburtsstunde meiner persönlichen Streetphotography. Zu diesem Zeitpunkt hatte ich ca. 30 Follower auf Instagram und postete nur gelegentlich Urlaubsfotos, die mit dem Handy aufgenommen wurde.

Mein erstes Streetfoto war also dies hier:

(Untitled, 2017)

Toll, oder?

Damals war ich noch extrem vorsichtig Menschen aufzunehmen. Außerdem war ich noch immer gewöhnt, dass man keinen Ausschuss produzieren soll, also wurde geduldig fokussiert und dann genau ein Bild gemacht. Die Ausbeute war daher am Anfang ziemlich bescheiden.

Mein erstes Streetfoto, das ich dann auf Instagram gepostet hatte, war dies hier:

(Relax, 2017)

Ich war stolz wie Harry. Die Resonanz war eher bescheiden.

In den Monaten danach begann ich vermehrt zu experimentieren. Zunächst stellte ich von Einzelfoto auf Serienbildaufnahmen um. Dann begann ich, mit den Fokuseinstellungen zu variieren. Bis ich dann beim Nachverfolgungsfokus hängen blieb. Damals arbeitete ich auch noch mit fest eingestellter Blende von 6.4 und einer variablen Verschlusszeit. Naja, der Ausschuss mit unscharfen Bildern war recht hoch.

Das erste – in meinen Augen – gute Streetfoto war dann dies hier:

(On the other side, 2017)

Relativ schnell wuchsen dann auch die Zahlen der Instagram-Follower.

Eine Herausforderung waren dann für mich die Wintermonate. Da ich hauptberuflich Angestellter bin und Streetphotography nur als Amateur betreibe, hatte ich die Gelegenheit für Shootings erst ab ca. 17.00 Uhr. Ab November schießt man als Streetfotograf nur in Dunkelheit. Also musste ich mir angewöhnen, konzentrierter und langsamer zu arbeiten. Also einmal stehenbleiben und die Hand ruhig halten. In diesen Monaten veränderte sich bei mir das Sehen. Trent Parke hat einmal gesagt: „I am forever chasing light. Light turns the ordinary into the magical.“. Wenn man im Winter bei Dunkelheit Street schießt versteht man, was damit gemeint ist.

Es gibt in meinen Augen dann nur zwei Möglichkeiten: Entweder du schießt gegen das Licht, so dass die Person als Silhouette erscheint oder du schießt mit dem Licht, so dass das Gesicht der Person von Schaufenstern angeleuchtet ist. Ein Beispiel für die Mischung beider Varianten:

(Bags, 2017)

Die eigentlichen Aha-Effekte hatte ich dann im März 2018. Hier hat sich einiges gefestigt: Die Art wie ich den Fotoapparat benutze (dazu in einem anderen Artikel mehr), die Auswahl der fotografierten Motive (auch dazu in einem eigenen Artikel mehr) und die Art und Weise, wie ich Fotos nachbearbeite.

Ich sollte an dieser Stelle auch erwähnen, dass ich nach einer gewissen Ethik Bilder aufnehme: Kinder, hilflose Menschen oder Menschen mit Einschränkungen sind für mich als Fotomotiv tabu! Grundsätzlich verändere ich die Bilder in der Nachbearbeitung fast nicht! In der Nachbearbeitung lege ich nur drei Dinge fest: Acros oder Classichrome, Kontrast erhöhen und Zuschneiden. D.h. Retusche in Photoshop gibt es bei mir überhaupt nicht! Ich würde für mich sonst die Bilder nicht mehr als authentisch ansehen können.

Im Zeitpunkt dieses Artikels habe ich fast 1200 Follower auf Instagram. Aufgenommen habe ich ca. 15000 Bilder. Für eine Veröffentlichung entwickelt wurden davon ca. 1000. Aktuell bin ich auf der Suche nach Gleichgesinnten im Raum Nürnberg, um mich über Streetphotography austauschen zu können. Ich bin neugierig, welche tollen Menschen ich da kennenlernen werde.

Mittlerweile habe ich als zweiten Body noch die Fuji X-E3, die ich hauptsächlich für den Alltag benutze und 4 weitere Objektive. (Das 5. ist bestellt…)

Mein aktuell bestes Bild (aus meiner bescheidenen Sicht) ist dies:

(Mirror man, 2018)

Die Reise geht weiter…

Weiter Beitrag

Zurück Beitrag

© 2018 Kosmophil

Thema von Anders Norén

error: Content is protected !!