Kosmophil

Schroeders Blog

How do I make photos

This article is about time. Because you don’t have time, when you shoot street. In the following I will describe, how und with which settings I shoot my photos. Because I am using the Fuji-X-system the description is for this, but if you are using an other system, maybe you can ‘translate’ it for your device.

My wife and I are owner of two Fuji-cameras: A X-T2 and a X-E3. Most of my photos were taken with two lenses: The XF27/2.8 (Pancake) and the XF35/2. We have recently bought the XF23/1.4, which I use enhanced because of the extraordinary quality of the pictures. In very rare cases I use the XF56/1.2.

So I have to main combos: The X-T2 with the XF35/2 and the X-E3 with the XF27/2.8. In the following the pics:

As I mentioned before, I use enhanced the XF23/1.4 mainly in combination with the X-E3.

In final analysis it is a trade-off between how big your camera should be and the picture quality. The X-E3 with the XF27/2.8 is my main gear, which I have alldays with me. Because for streetphotography is the rule: The best camera is the one, you have with you.

Approximately 90% of my photos were taken by a shoot from the hip and only about 10% with precise focusing. OK, I hear the ones right now, which say: ‘that is no real Streetphotography’. But shooting from the hip has two essential benefits: First most people don’t see your camera, when you hold the camera on the hip. But the most important cause is the velocity! It least to long, if you will raise your camera to your eye and do your precise adjustments.

By the way ‘velocity’: My system is optimized for velocity. The fastest autofocus-settings (see below) and very fast shutter-speed. Because one is very important for Streetphotography: the decisive moment is very fast gone! You will never have enough time for doing your best photo.

When I shoot from the hip, I am holding the camera in a special way:

On the picture you can see the two-handed grip, but normally I use it one-handed. I have a soft-release-button on both cameras. That’s not because of being trendy, but as you can see on the picture, my thumb joint is lying on the soft-release-button. If I take a photo, I only have to give a litte bit of pressure on my thumb.

As you can see on the title picture:

(Selfie, 2018)

Or in this photo:

(Mirrored, 2018)

How are my permanent settings on the cameras?

  • Single-mode (S): Because the continous-autofocus is ‘pumping’ to much and that is slowing down.
  • Series shooting with slow mode (CL) with 4.0 pictures per second: That’s because of in faster series modes there is too less change in the motif. Read also the description at the end.
  • Area-autofocus with the tiniest area-field which is possible: I have read, that this mode is the fastest autofocus for Fuji-cameras. Also the possibility to get an autofocus point is very high.
  • Electronic-shutter: because I don’t want to get heard. Please notice, that you have to be aware of the rolling-shutter-effect with this setting!
  • no AF-assist-light: because I don’t want to be seen by others.

And there additionally variable settings:

  1. At bright sun-light: Auto-ISO from 200 to 3200 and minimum shutter speed at 1/500 (because the possibility for shaking is very low). The shutter speed is on A and the aperture is varying in case of the motif. DR is on 100%.
  2. At normal light (standard-setting): Auto-ISO from 200 to 3200 and minimum shutter speed at 1/60, but DR is on 200% (if I need it, I choose an other DR-setting). The shutter speed is variable (mostly at 1/500) and the aperture is on A.
  3. Less light: Auto-ISO from 400 to 6400 and minimum shutter speed at 1/60, DR is always on 200%. The shutter speed is normally at 1/250 and the aperture is on A.

Additionally I have 3 presets on the Q-menu, which are fitting the three situations.

Why do I take photos with a series mode?

In the hear of the moment it is not easy to get the decisive moment. With the series mode you can choose the best photo afterwards on the iMac. For example one of my best photos:

Beneath that there is one more advantage of the series mode: In some situations on the street there is a story in the sequence of photos. If you take more connected photos there is a comming theme.

So, I hope, that I have provided some insights on my work.

Next Post

© 2018 Kosmophil

Theme by Anders Norén

error: Content is protected !!

Kosmophil

Schroeders Blog

Wie arbeite ich?

Dieser Artikel geht über Zeit. Denn die hat man bei Streetphotography schlicht nicht. Ich möchte daher an dieser Stelle erklären, wie und mit welchen Einstellungen ich inzwischen Fotos schieße. Da ich das Fujifilm X-System nutze, ist der Beitrag für dieses System geschrieben. Wenn Sie ein anderes System nutzen, können Sie evtl. den einen oder anderen Tipp für Ihr System übertragen.

Meine Frau und ich besitzen aktuell zwei Fuji-Kameras: Eine X-T2 und eine X-E3. Die meisten meiner Fotos habe ich mit zwei Objektiven gemacht: Dem XF27/2.8 (Pancake) und dem XF35/2. Neuerdings habe ich auch das XF23/1.4, das ich inzwischen wegen seiner überragenden Bildqualität verstärkt nutze. Ganz selten habe ich noch das XF56/1.2 im Einsatz.

Daher habe ich zwei wesentliche Kombos: Die X-T2 mit dem XF35/2 und die X-E3 mit dem XF27/2.8. Nachstehend dazu die Bilder:

Wie gesagt nutze ich auch das XF23/1.4 verstärkt und zwar hauptsächlich mit der X-E3.

Im Endeffekt ist es ein Abwägen zwischen Größe und Bildqualität. Die X-E3 mit dem XF27/2.8 ist mein Alltagsgerät, das ich meistens in einer Tasche dabei habe. Denn für die Streetphotography gilt: Die beste Kamera ist die, die man dabei hat.

Etwa 90% meiner Fotos schieße ich aus der Hüfte und nur etwa 10% mit bewusstem Fokussieren. Jetzt könnte der eine oder andere die Nase rümpfen, dass aus der Hüfte fotografieren keine Streetphotography ist. Das Schießen aus der Hüfte hat aber für mich zwei wesentliche Gründe: Erstens sehen viele Menschen nicht die Kamera, die ich auf Hüfthöhe halte. D.h. der candid-moment ist wesentlich besser zu erreichen bei einer Hüftposition. Der entscheidende Grund ist aber für mich die Geschwindigkeit! Es dauert schlicht zu lange, bis ich die Kamera am Auge habe und sauber fokussiere.

Apropos Geschwindigkeit: Mein gesamtes System ist auf Geschwindigkeit optimiert – die schnellste Autofokus-Einstellung (dazu weiter unten) und kurze Verschlusszeiten. Denn eines ist immens wichtig, bei Streetphotography: Der entscheidende Moment ist viel zu schnell vorbei! Sie werden nie genug Zeit für das beste Foto haben.

Wenn ich in Hüftposition die Fotos schieße, dann halte ich die Kamera in einer bestimmten Art und Weise:

Auf dem Bild ist der beidseitige Griff zu sehen, normalerweise nutze ich dies aber einhändig. Ich habe einen Soft-Release-Button auf meinem Auslöser. Dies hat aber keinen modischen Grund, sondern wie im Bild ersichtlich liegt mein Daumengelenk auf dem Release-Button. Das Foto schieße ich, in dem ich das Daumengelenk nach unten drücke.

Man kann dies z.B. in dem Titelbild sehen:

(Selfie, 2018)

Oder in einem anderen Bild mit Spiegel:

(Mirrored, 2018)

Wie sind jetzt meine dauerhaften Einstellungen in der Kamera?

  • Single-Modus (S): Der Continous-Autofokus „pumpt“ einfach zu oft und verbraucht dadurch Zeit.
  • Serienbild in langsamen Modus (CL) mit 4.0 Bilder pro Sekunde: Dies mache ich, weil bei schnellerem Modus zu wenig Veränderung beim Objekt passiert. Dazu auch unten noch eine Erklärung.
  • Area-Autofokus mit kleinstem Area-Feld: Ich habe in einem Artikel gelesen, dass dies der schnellste Autofokus-Modus der Fujikameras ist. Außerdem ist die Wahrscheinlichkeit groß, dass der Autofokus einen Messpunkt findet.
  • Electronic-Shutter: Weil ich nicht gehört werden will. Aufpassen muss man hier wegen des Rolling-Shutter-Effects.
  • kein AF-Hilfslicht: Weil das der Gegenüber sehen würde.

Und dann gibt es die variablen Einstellungen:

  1. Bei Sonnenlicht: Auto-ISO von 200 bis 3200 und Mindestverschlusszeit von 1/500 (weil da die Verwacklungswahrscheinlichkeit am geringsten ist). Dazu Verschlusszeit auf A und Blende wird nach Objekt variiert. DR ist auf 100%.
  2. Bei normalen Licht (Standard): Auto-ISO von 200 bis 3200 und Mindestverschlusszeit von 1/60, aber DR ist erst einmal auf 200% (bei Bedarf stelle ich um). Hier ist die Verschlusszeit variabel (meist 1/500) und die Blende auf A.
  3. Wenig Licht: Auto-ISO von 400 bis 6400 und Mindestverschlusszeit von 1/60, DR ist immer auf 200%. Die Verschlusszeit ist hier auf 1/250 und die Blende auf A.

Dazu habe ich die Quick-Menü-Tasten entsprechend mit 3 Vorgabesets belegt.

Warum fotografiere ich eigentlich in Serienbildfunktion?

Im Eifer des Gefechts ist es nicht immer einfach, genau DEN entscheidenden Moment zu treffen. Bei Serienbilden kann man sich in Ruhe am iMac die Bilder ansehen und das beste aus der Serie heraussuchen. Wie auch in einem meiner besten Bilder:

Daneben hat die Serienbildfunktion noch einen weiteren Effekt: Manche Street-Situation ergeben eine Story, wenn mehrere Bilder zum Thema entstehen.

So, ich hoffe, ich konnte wieder ein paar Einblicke geben.

Weiter Beitrag

© 2018 Kosmophil

Thema von Anders Norén

error: Content is protected !!